link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 106 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9542
Date: Sat 19 Jun 1869
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Rosamond Constance
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Hotel Pelicano

Bagni di Lucca

Saturday 19th June

My dear papa

The letter of indication turned up all right by this morning’s early post, so you see the P.O. of Florence lost no time in attending to your directions. It was not a registered letter as I had supposed and therefore of course they had no difficulty in forwarding it here. Please tell Ela I will answer her letter to Cadenabbia in a day or two. Does Charles ever write to you?.. I have heard neither from nor of him for a long time.

I hope Mama will get a thorough good rest at Milan, and that she will then be able to enjoy the Lakes comfortably. Please give her my love. We are not a bit too hot here; indeed the evenings are sometimes almost chilly with these thick trees all around. We are delighted with the acquisition of our new footbridge, which was entirely erected in the course of yesterday, so that before night many people had already availed themselves of it for their evening’s walk: and now I am going over to begin a sketch of this group of houses from the opposite bank. I intend this to go by the 9/40 post this morning, so have no time for more, and must say goodbye, dear Papa,

with much love from your affect. daughter


What do you wish one to do with your old letter of Indication: Shall I send it back to you?..

Result number 106 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >