link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 72 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 86
Date: Thu Jun 1867
Dating: date assumed from 09243 & 09245
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Rosamond Constance
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Heidelberg <1>


My dear Papa,

They say that the post for via Bâle leaves at one, and that letters must be put in an hour previously, so I have only time to tell you that we are thinking of leaving here on Tomorrow, Friday, if all goes well, and hope to reach Lucerne Sunday evening – Therefore you must write no more letters here. I wonder at your having found no letters from Tilly <2> or anybody to forward to us from Lucerne, but I hope they will not arrive here after we are gone. Mamie <3> has been really ill, but is so much better now that I hope we may undertake the journey without risk. The weather since yesterday has suddenly become very dull & cold, before that it was beautiful. Mama <4> received your letter this morning –

Your affect. daughter


I hope either Charles <5> or you will get this note, as I direct to both.


1. See Doc. No: 09245.

2. Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ‘Tilly’, née Talbot (1839–1927), WHFT’s 3rd daughter.

3. Amélina Petit De Billier, ‘Mamie’, ‘Amandier’ (1798–1876), governess and later close friend of the Talbot family [See Amélina's journal ].

4. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

5. Charles Henry Talbot (1842–1916), antiquary & WHFT’s only son.

Result number 72 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >