link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 85 of 10076:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 206
Date: Wed
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Constance, née Mundy
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: 27064
Last updated: 9th January 2011

Great Stuart St. <1>
Wednesday.

My dear Henry

I am glad to hear that you think of coming soon. If you are still at Lacock when this note reaches you, I wish you would tell me whether you think there is any chance of recovering a small article of mine which has been lost on the journey by goods train to Edinburgh – sent off from Chippenham on the 19th October. – I will explain. We had 2 large crates or cradles of furniture packed by Gale’s <2> men to come to Edinburgh – We filled up the spaces with blankets, pieces of carpet, unbound publications, baskets, little articles of various kinds – One thing I gave out was a small rose wood box with a mosaic on the lid – what they call a glove box or netting box; and I valued it because it was a present Caroline <3> brought me from Rome many years ago – The Carpenters wrapped a colored counterpane round it, tied with a string & placed it at the bottom of the smaller crate, (the square one) under a music waggon – When the package was undone in this house there was no box forthcoming neither the counterpane in which it was wrapped. – And there was a side of the carpetting which had secured the package, un-nailed. Therefore my box & counterpane must have been stolen by some one at some Goods station of the Railway. Would there be any use of in lodging a complaint at the Chippenham Station? – If so will you order it to be done – and Wilkins <4> I think would be a properer person to speak to the Station master than William Pullen <5>. – The loss was not discovered as you may suppose until I arrived here myself & missed my little box. –

your affectionate
Constance.


Notes:

1. 13 Great Stuart Street, Edinburgh, frequent home of the Talbots from 1863-1871.

2. John Gale, carpenter at Lacock.

3. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, nιe Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

4. George Wilkins (b. 1814), gardener at Lacock.

5. William Pullen, Lacock Abbey coachman.

Result number 85 of 10076:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >