link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 18 of 46:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 800
Date: 17 May 1818
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TREVELYAN Walter Calverley
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003


May 17th 1818.

Many thanks, dear Talbot for your two epistles <1> and for the offer of a specimen of Medicago falcata, which you will oblige me much by preserving for me, as also of any other plants you may meet, which you think it likely I have not; I might collect many here, but I really have not time to go into the country for them; many scarce species of the Orchis tribe; in the garden is a plant of the Narcissus incomparabilis said to have been lately found in a wood near this place, above a mile from any house or garden. I attend the chemical lectures but have not time to pursue it practically our professor melted Platina wire very readily by means of the New Blowpipe. – I hope most sincerely that you will put your plan of visiting the North in execution. I shall be most happy to receive you any time between the middle of June & the beginning of October. – If you are at all fond of Music, you would find it very well worth your while to come to our Commemoration on the 3d 4th & 5th of June. – & I should be most happy to give you bed & board in my rooms.

excuse haste & believe me

yours sincerely

W. C. Trevelyan

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
Trinity college


1. One of them was probably Doc. No: 00799.

Result number 18 of 46:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >