link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 20 of 46:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 378
Date: 21 Aug 1818
Dating: 1818 confirmed by death of his grandmother
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TREVELYAN Walter Calverley
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 6th January 2011

21 August

Thanks, Dear Talbot for your epistle from Keswick, <1> by which I was glad to find that you were pleased with your journey that far. – I wish I could have accompanied you part of the way. –

I sent your shells off on the 16th directed to Sackville street, <2> which place I hope they will have reached in safety. –

Last night we received the melancholy intelligence of Lady Wilsons death, on the 17th–<3> it was an event that had been long expected from her very weak state for some time past.

The fruit of the Passiflora Quadrangularis is much increased since your departure and I hope will ripen, there are also three more with a promising appearance. The weather has lately been very cold for this time of year. –

I hear that in the South, near London, many trees have already lost their foliage. –

The Tigridia Pavonia was in blossom a few days since in the Stove, the first I ever saw, and I think is a beautiful flower. –

In a number of the Gentlemans Magazine for last year is an account of a remarkable oak called the Golanos oak,<4> which grew near Newport in Monmouthshire, was cut down in 1810 contained 2426 cubict [sic] feet of timber, the produce of the tree was within a little of 600 £. –

I hope you will have a pleasant tour in France & wish you fair weather for it. – Shall be glad to hear from you whener you can find time to write. – Remember me kindly to your cousin Christopher, <5> & tell him that whenever he can find an opportunity, I shall be very glad to see him here

I remain yours sincerely
W. C. Trevelyan

W. H. F. Talbot Esqr
Penrice Castle
near Swansea


1. Keswick, Cumberland.

2. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

3. His maternal grandmother, Lady Jane Wilson, née Weller (1749-1818), widow of Thomas Spencer Wilson, 6th Baronet (1726-1798).

4. Reported in a letter from 'D.A.Y.', Gentleman's Magazine, v. 87, October 1817, p. 305.

5. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

Result number 20 of 46:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >