link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 6:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1204
Date: 19 Aug 1824
Postmark: 20 Aug 1824
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: VICKERY Elizabeth
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA24-49
Last updated: 6th December 2010

Eastington Park St
August 19

Dear Sir

I received your kind letter & was very happy to hear you arrive Safe back to the continent again & very glad to her you in enjoy your health so well & your mama & your Dear Sister & Mr Feilding <1> I shuld have been very glad to seen you when you was in England but I hope shall have that pleaser when you do return I feel anxieus her that Day to com I hope you will be so kind tel me know when you arrive in England Der Sir I sorry to informe you that I going to lave Mrs Shirley <2> She told me that her family was grewn up & that she culd do without me I have nurs up 6 very kind children thare is four kind young gentleman & 2 young Ladys the youngs is in his 6 years Mrs Shirley ast been very kind to me I tell you more about it when I see you I canot say much on the subject I am so affective[?] at laves[?] the Dear Children I think it will brake my Spirits very much all tho I know I have fulfilled my Duty to them,

Lady Mary <3> have rote to me very kind letter say or do what I will I cannot put the Dear Children out of my mind the family is gen to Ireland I am at Eastington park as yeat

I remind Dear Sir your humble Servant
Elizabeth Vickery

Henry Fox Talbot Esqr
Capn Feilding’s
No31 Sackville Street
Poste Restante
Aug: 20th


1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother, Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister, and Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

2. Mrs Evelyn Shirley of Warwickshire. [See Doc. No: 00569].

3. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776–1855), WHFT’s aunt.

Result number 3 of 6:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >