link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 6 of 26:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 6645
Date: 14 Jun 1852
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: WILLIAMS James Augustus
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 3rd December 2009

Dummer House Basingstoke

June 14

My dear Sir,

I hope Charlie has written to you today to give you an account of Highclere, where I took him and some of his companions on Saturday. The weather – had been so unsatisfactory that I had deferred my visit, and altho’ we found the American plants more magnificent than any I had before seen it was evident that they had suffered considerable damage from the heavy rains of last week – I was very glad to find that we had so pretty a country within eighteen miles of us –

Charles is going on very well in all respects, and I am happy to say that he makes a very good companion now to his school-fellows as I never hear any <ill.del.> complaints on either-side – I think that with a little help he makes out the Homer, as well as most boys, I felt disposed to try it with him as I think that it the different terminations make a boy use his mind more than adhering solely to the Attic dialect –

I beg to conclude with Compts & to remain Yours very truly

Jas A. Williams

Result number 6 of 26:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >