link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 11 of 27:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2390
Date: 28 Jun 1832
Dating: 1832? - possibly Jul
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: WORSLEY Thomas
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 2nd March 2016

Dear Talbot/

If your question had arrived some little time ago it is not improbable that I might have put myself forth as the agreeable & sensible man you speak of – My present plan however is to go & help our friend J C Hare <1> at Herstmonceaux & I assure you we promise ourselves many prosperous speculations together. But as this project cannot be realized till next spring in consequence of his house not being perfectly refitted till that time & as I think it wd be more advantageous for me to take professional work than to travel during the interval – I should feel very well inclined if the curacy is now vacant to go & fill it at least pro tem. & this would give me little you plenty of time to look out for a good man

The only drawback to this is that I have been unwell & am hardly yet strong enough to bear much parish duty. At any rate I shall come & have a talk with you about it as soon as I have got rid of my violent cold which is now keeping me close prisoner – I saw your name in the Athen. <2> book a day or two since & meditated a call which [illegible] Athenau has deferred – I am glad to find Kerry has returned though from the same reason I have not yet seen him:

Yours Ever

39 Maddon St
June 28 –


I observe that in the foregoing I have assumed on a fortiori <3> which is perhaps not strictly logical – you however who write for the Phil. Mus. need not be reminded that [οι?] αμφιπλατωνα may be construed πλατωνα αντοτατον <4> – The fact is, I have reasoned with you just as if I was reasoning with myself & the apology, that you are expected to do the same as with me. I wrote them yesterday on receiving yours but did not send it thinking I might call today Being no better however I shall keep house again


1. Julius Charles Hare (1795–1855), assistant tutor (1822–1832), Chaplain to the Queen (1853–1855).

2. Athenaeum Club, Pall Mall, London: WHFT’s club; a gentleman’s club composed primarily of artists and scientists.

3. An argument with greater force.

4. Those around Plato might be being construed as those opposed to Plato.

Result number 11 of 27:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >