link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 90:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 208
Date: Wed
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Ela Theresa
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 2nd February 2018

Marle hill house

My dear Papa,

We arrived here last evening after a very prosperous journey and were most hospitably received by Aunt Newton <1> who gave us tea immediately and supper about ½ past 8. She is looking very well and in good spirits – she has staying with her, besides Miss Holworthy a young clergyman and his wife, Mr and Mrs Franklin Hepworth, but they go today to pay another visit in Cheltenham – it is lucky for them that they are going no further, as it is blowing a gale and would be anything but pleasant traveling weather – It is also raining hard at the present time.

Linny behaved very well in traveling and does not seem to object at all to his new quarters as he is out of his cage and hopping about just as usual only he refused to take his bath, objecting apparently to the appearance of the tub! <2>

Mamma<3> found a letter from Mamie <4> awaiting her arrival – and they are comfortably settled at last in Edinburgh our neighbours the Moncrieffs had also just arrived in town –

You must excuse a short letter as I also wish to write a line to Tilly <5> before dinner (which is at 1 oclock) and I do not exactly know at what time this afternoon the letters will be sent to the post, so Goodbye dear Papa

yr affectionate daughter

We found Aunt Newton’s servant waiting for us at the stations, so we had no trouble whatever – and our late arrival had not at all annoyed her –


1. Their great-aunt, Eleanor Newton, née Stephenson (1788-1880), widow of Robert Newton Leaper-Newton (1775-1846), the brother of Sarah Leaper Mundy, née Newton (d. 10 March 1836), WHFT's mother in law; she continued to live at Marle-Hill House, Cheltenham.

2. 'Linny' the canary entered the family circle sometime before November 1865 - see Doc. No: 09045.

3. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811– 9 September 1880), WHFT’s wife.

4. Amélina Petit De Billier, ‘Mamie’, ‘Amandier’ (1798–1876), governess and later close friend of the Talbot family [See Amélina's journal].

5. Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, née Talbot (25 Feb 1839-1927), 'Tilly', WHFT's 3rd daughter.

Result number 2 of 90:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >