link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 01251
Date: 10 Feb 1825
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Christopher Rice Mansel
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA25(MW)-11
Last updated: 10th October 2012

Penrice <1>
Feby 10 – 1825

My dear Henry,

How did you send the view of the Recken Fossen, it never has arrived here – I am not quite determined about going to Christiania as I hear there is a dreadful sea in the German ocean when it blows hard – but I think I have made up my mind to sail to the Arches of Pelago next autumn – The schooner is rapidly progressing towards completion & will certainly be launched in spring. I am afraid I must call her the Harlequin, as I cannot think of a better name. I should like very much to spend part of the month of March at Paris, but I cannot say for certainty what my intentions may be – It was quite a chance that I did not go to London, it happened that a man at Southampton took my contract for the schooners masts &c otherwise I should have gone – On second thoughts I think I shall go to Paris for a fortnight, as I have got a French Servant, but I am afraid I shall be going just exactly as you are leaving the place – Shall you be very exact to the 1st of April? I am at present staying here all alone. Sir Christopher <2> is in London, & the rest are at Bath still, and I think it is very uncertain when they will come away Charlotte <3> thinks herself getting better, but from what I can understand, Mr Hickes <4> the physician does not imagine he can be of permanent service to her however as long as she continues to improve or to fancy that she improves they do not like to leave her – I have seldom seen my mother better than at present. Mary <5> has just rejoined them at Bath – I lead a most primitive life here, shooting Mondays Wednesdays & Fridays, & hunting the alternate days – I have had more sport with [text missing] <6> hounds in two days here, than I had with Mr Farquharson’s <7> in two months – we had a run on Tuesday to Rossilly Bay from Stouthall – eight miles without a check – everybody thrown out except me –

I have just heard of the Recken Fossen for which I return you many thanks

Believe me Every truly yours
Chrisr R M Talbot

W H F. Talbot Esqr
Hotel de la Terrasse
Rue Rivoli


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. Sir Christopher Cole (1770–1836), Captain, MP & naval officer.

3. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

4. Mr Hickes, physician.

5. Mary Thereza Talbot (1795–1861), WHFT’s cousin.

6. Text torn away under seal.

7. Mr Farquharson of Dorsetshire. [See Doc. No: 02243].