link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 102 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3419
Date: Mon 1837
Dating: 1837?
Watermark: 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: 27283
Last updated: 12th February 2012

Sackville St <1>

My dear Henry

Papa <2> is going on well, but his progress is very slow, which the doctors say we must expect it will be for some time – He sleeps a great deal which helps to restore his strength, & yesterday he eat [sic] some boiled chicken which seemed to succeed very well – He told me just now to read him the newspaper Caroline <3> expects Ld Valletort <4> about the end of this week – & Bimbo <5> he has been very busy down there with Ld Eliot’s committee – It seems some of them wanted him to stand for Devonport – which he resisted. Uncle John <6> is to come in for Dorset in Mr Ponsonby’s <7> place – & Henry <8> for Calne <9> – Is it true that Mr Neild <10> is to stand for N. Wiltshire? I pity you for being on the grand Jury but if it is no hotter there than it is here you will not suffer much from that – yesterday it was quite cold & to-day very pleasantly cool Caroline meant to have answered your letter to-day but as she is engaged at the painter’s this morng I have written instead – I am glad to hear you think of visiting us again – I hope we shall be less dismal than when you were here last, & more able to enjoy your society Love to Constance –

Yr affte sister
Horatia –

Dr Seymour <11> has taken his leave to-day which is a very good sign – Mama <12> begs you will not have the lock picked on any account as Uncle Harry <13> can do without the map


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

3. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

4. Ernest Augustus Edgcumbe, Lord Valletort, 3rd Earl of Mt Edgcumbe (1797–1861), WHFT’s brother-in-law.

5. William Henry Edgcumbe, ‘Val’, 4th Earl Mt Edgcumbe (1832–1917), JP & Ld Steward of the Royal Household; WHFT’s nephew ‘Bimbo’.

6. John George Charles Fox Strangways (1803–1859), MP; sat for Dorset from July 1837 to 1841.

7. William Francis Spencer Ponsonby (1787–1855), politician; sat for Dorsetshire from 1832 until 1837.

8. Henry Fitzmaurice, Lord Shelburne, 4th Marquess of Lansdowne (1816–1866), MP.

9. Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock.

10. Misspelling for Joseph Neeld (1789–1856), MP & botanist.

11. See Doc. No: 03521.

12. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

13. Henry Stephen Fox Strangways, 3rd Earl of Ilchester (1787–1858).

Result number 102 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >