link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 104 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3519
Date: 16 Jun 1837
Dating: marriage of Digby
Postmark: 16 Jun 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 14th February 2012

[this is written on the same sheet as a note from Lady Elisabeth - see Doc. No: 04397]

June 16th

My dear Henry

Papa <1> slept a good deal in the night & is certainly better & has less fever – but he still has the pain in his chest which occasions a difficulty in breathing – Mr Cutler <2> says it is caused by rheumatism in the muscles of the diaphragm – but he hopes it will be better before night, as he is giving him calomel pills which he thinks most likely to remove it. I had no idea the rheumatism could attack those parts, but Mr Cutler knows many instances of it – Mama <3> will add a postscript & tell you how he is by & bye. We sent you the grass seed yesterday which I went to buy at Covent garden according to your directions – I hope it was right I was offered a place in Louisa’s <4> carriage to go to the wedding at Melbury as I was to have been one of the bridesmaids – but I did not like to leave Papa just now & so declined The marriage <5> is to take place Tuesday, & they go to Redlynch for a fortnight & then abroad Constance’s <6> description of the garden makes one long to be at Laycock – I am sure it must do her & the little ones a world of good. Give them my love Harriet Mundy <7> is to be here to-day.

Pray tell me how your think Henry Fitzmaurice <8> looking [sic] as I am rather anxious about him

Yr affte Sister

Is there anything pretty in my garden?

June sixteen 1837 London Mr C Lemon <9>
Henry Talbot Esqr
Laycock abbey


1. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

2. Charles Feilding’s doctor.

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

4. Louisa Howard, née Fitzmaurice (d. 1906), daughter of Lady Louisa Emma Fitzmaurice.

5. The wedding of Theresa Anna Maria Digby, née Fox Strangways (1814–1874), WHFT’s cousin; On 20 June 1837, she married Edward St. Vincent Digby, 9th Baron Digby of Geashill (1809 –1889).

6. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

7. Harriot Georgiana Mundy, née Frampton (1806-1886), WHFT’s cousin & sister-in-law.

8. Henry Fitzmaurice, Lord Shelburne, 4th Marquess of Lansdowne (1816–1866), MP.

9. Sir Charles Lemon (1784–1868), politician & scientist; WHFT’s uncle.

Result number 104 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >