link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 18 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1429
Date: 03 May 1826
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: HOOKER William Jackson
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 30th January 2011

May 3d 1826

My dear Sir

I have indeed suffered too much time to elapse after having received the two works of Viviani <1> without acknowledging them. But having now the opportunity of sending free to London I am anxious not only to return you my thanks for procuring them for me but for also to repay the cost of them which you state to be £1. –

Arnott <2> is returned after having made an enormous collection in the Pyrenées. Mr Trevelyan <3>, who is now here, talks of going into Spain & spending the ensuing winter & following summer in collecting plants & objects relating to Natural History. He has some doubt however about the means of travelling with safety. Yet surely by means of introductions he could travel in his capacity unmolested.

Is there no hope of your coming to Glasgow this year? I wish you could come the middle of June when I talk of going, with my Students, to Staffa. Perhaps, however, you have some more distant journey in view.

Yours ever, my dear Sir, very faithfully
W. J. Hooker.

Thank ing you for taking charge of my vol. of the Dictionary from Paris <4>.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
Albany <5>
No 31 Sackville Street <6>


1. Domenico Viviani (1772–1840), Floræ Libycæ … (Genoa: Pagano, 1824), and Floræ Corsicæ … (Genoa: Pagano, 1824).

2. George Arnott Walker Arnott, later professor of botany at the University of Glasgow. He was a co-author with Hooker of The botany of Captain Beechey’s voyage … to the Pacific (London: H. G. Bohn, 1841). In 1842, Hooker transferred to him the editorship of British Flora.

3. Sir Walter Calverley Trevelyan, 6th Baronet (1797–1879), naturalist & antiquary.

4. See Doc. No: 01285.

5. Gentlemen’s apartments in Piccadilly where WHFT had rooms 1825–1827.

6. Readdressed in another hand.

Result number 18 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >