link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 5 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 741
Date: 14 Jan 1817
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: HOOKER William Jackson
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 29th April 2012

Janry. 14th 1817.

My dear Sir

The papers of Mosses you have sent me <1> are not numbered, but being named I trust you have kept corresponding papers at home & that by their means you will you will understand the few remarks I have to offer. Where I have not noticed any of your names you may rely upon these being correct, although you may have put a Query to them.

Your Phascum Schreberianum? (two papers) is a var of P. cuspidatum. Gymn. Intermedium is G. truncatum. The former indeed is only a variety with longer capsules. “G. pyriforme, or fasciculare?” is the former of the two. The Didymodon is heteromallum. Your three papers of Tortule I take to be all vars of T. f[illegible]. Trichostomum [lineare?] [illegible] is very right, but the same as Didymodon sisidenum. “Trich. ericoides? is fasciculare. The Orthotricha it is scarcely possible to determine without the [illegible] quite perfect Phascum senatum I should be thankful for some as it is with us a scarce plant.

You ask if we do not propose to admit Hedwig’s <2> Fissidens in our Flora. I fear this cannot be done unless the Generic characters are taken from the leaves, which is contrary to a Linnćan maxim that they are to be derived solely from the fructification: & here we have nothing to distinguish it from Dicranum.

Our MSs <3> is now in London where we hope some Bookseller may be induced to take the publication upon himself, or at any rate a share in it, & then we shall soon commence printing.

I shall be happy at all times to hear from you upon the subject of our favourite science & to render you every assistance in my power.

I remain, dear Sir Very truly & faithfully yours
W. J. Hooker.

I had nearly overlooked your Calicum which is sphaerocephalum.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
31. Sackville street


1. See Doc. No: 00732.

2. Johann Hedwig (1730–1799). [See Doc. No: 00712].

3. William Jackson Hooker and Thomas Taylor [d. 1848], Muscologia Britannica: containing the mosses of Great Britain and Ireland… (London: Longman, Hurst etc, 1818. [See Doc. No: 00732.]

Result number 5 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >