link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 10 of 14:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3552
Date: 17 Aug 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: LINDLEY John
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 9th March 2011

My Dear Sir

The Physianthus is from Buenos Ayres. We here know it to be hardy. I agree with you that it is a remarkable fact. Who shall assign a reason for a plant being hardy or not?

Sir J. Herschels <1> plant is a Monopsis, but in the present confusion concerning Lohliaceous[?] plants I have not time to determine the species.

As to Compositæ provided they do not belong to Hieraceum or some such [illegible] genus & there is not many of them I’ll see what I can do. But if you will study De Candolles book <2> you will not find their identification is difficult as you apprehend. Dried specimens I prefer to fresh ones.

I am anxious to figure yr Dianthus: so send it up by all means.

Yours faithfully
John Lindley

Aug. 17. 1837.


1. Sir John Frederick William Herschel (1792–1871), astronomer & scientist.

2. Augustin Pyramus (or Pyrame) de Candolle (1778-1841), Swiss botanist; and his son, Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyrame de Candolle (1806-1893), French-Swiss, originally a lawyer before turning to botany.

Result number 10 of 14:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >