link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 17 of 23:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 4370
Date: 25 Nov 1841
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MOORE Thomas (poet)
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA41-73
Last updated: 12th September 2013

Sloperton <1>
Novr 25, 1841

My dear Talbot –

Your letter <2> reached me here only this morning – but as Lady Elisabeth <3> has known all my “whereabouts” and whither–about throughout the whole of the last four or five days, I trust no inconvenience has arisen from my not having written to announce my movements to you. The facts (which I trust you have long ere this known) are that I left London on Sunday last, and on Monday joined the party, of which your mother formed one of the stars, at Bowood. <4> My impression, indeed, was from what I heard at Sackville St <5> that you had gone direct from thence to Laycock and were still staying there.

I am likewise not a little puzzled as to where I shall send this letter, – but as to day is the time you mentioned for being in London, I shall take my chance of its finding you there. tomorrow. Say whether you wish me to write to Murray <6> on the subject of the Photographic work <7> – if so, I shall do it most readily; but should you be still in town your going to him yourself would be a far better and more satisfactory measure, and no introduction, beyond your name, would, I am sure, be necessary.

Yours most truly
Thomas Moore


1. Sloperton Cottage, Wiltshire, 1 mi E of Lacock: home of Thomas Moore, the Irish poet.

2. Not located.

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

4. Bowood House, nr Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock: seat of the Marquess of Lansdowne.

5. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

6. John Murray (1808–1892), London publisher.

7. A proposed volume on the scenery of Germany, Italy and so forth, illustrated with calotype plates. [See Doc. No: 04379].

Result number 17 of 23:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >