link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 106:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3551
Date: Wed 16 Aug 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: PETIT DE BILLIER Amélina
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 14th February 2012

[written on the same sheet as a note from Caroline - see see Doc. No: 00193]

Wednesday August 16th

Caroline <1> est auprès de son père: elle me charge d’achever sa lettre; je n’ai rien de plus à vous communiquer que ce qu’elle a dit. – Mr Bowling <2> est venu hier et avant hier coucher. Mr Feilding <3> aime ses manières douces et calmes: il est bien fâcheux qu’il soit obligé de retourner à Nice sitôt; il est clever and gentlemanlike.

Lady Theresa <4> est arrivée en ville d’où elle est repartie de suite pour Melbury <5> où elle va attendre son père avec Mrs Macdonald, Lady G. Murray <6> et Lady Caroline. On dit que Lord Ilchester <7> supporte ce coup terrible avec la plus admirable résignation –

Mes amitiés sincères et compliments à Mrs Talbot <8>
Votre affectionée

Amelina [sic]

Lady Lansdowne <9> écrit qu’elle s’inquiète des singulières sensations qu’éprouve son fils dans la tête, quoiqu’il aille mieux du reste.



Wednesday 16 August

Caroline is with her father: she has asked me to finish her letter; I have nothing more to communicate than what she has told you. –Mr Bowling came to stay over last night and the night before. Mr Feilding likes his gentle, calm manner: it really is unfortunate that he is obliged to return to Nice immediately; he is clever and gentlemanlike.

Lady Theresa came up to town from whence she departed again immediately for Melbury where she will await her father with Mrs Macdonald, Lady G. Murray and Lady Caroline. They say that Lord Ilchester bears this terrible blow with the most admirable resignation –

With sincere and friendly regards and compliments to Mrs Talbot
Your affectionate

Lady Landsdowne writes that she is worried about the strange sensations that her son is experiencing in his head, although otherwise his condition is improving.


1. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

2. Surgeon. See Doc. No: 03128.

3. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

4. Theresa Anna Maria Digby, née Fox Strangways (1814–1874), WHFT’s cousin; On 20 June 1837, she married Edward St. Vincent Digby, 9th Baron Digby of Geashill (1809 –1889).

5. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

6. Lady Anne Charlotte Murray, née Grant (d. 1844).

7. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795–1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

8. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

9. Louisa Emma Petty Fitzmaurice, née Fox Strangways, Marchioness of Lansdowne (1785-1851), wife of Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne; Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Victoria, 1837-1838; WHFT's aunt.

Result number 8 of 106:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >