link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 67:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1165
Date: 17 Feb 1824
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Christopher Rice Mansel
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA24-020
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Penrice <1>

Feby 17th 1824

My dear Henry

I wrote to my Uncle to know whether it would be necessary for me to be at home on coming of age, in May, saying at the same time, that if it was not, I should accompany John <2> to Genoa. He answered me that there was no necessity, and I thereupon wrote to John signifying my readiness to go whenever suited him – I have however lately received a letter from Lord Ilchester <3> begging me not to go, but not stating any reasons for this request further than, the advisableness of becoming acquainted with my estate as soon as possible – I cannot at all guess what induced my uncle to alter his opinion, but as it is probably the last opportunity I shall have for the exercise of my obedience, I think it right to give up all idea of going abroad, without troubling him to give his reasons – I am very sure that I shall be much less at liberty to go abroad next year than I am at present and I shall therefore always regret that so fair an opportunity as the present offers, should have escaped me.

I have made enquiries from Miss <Evatt?> respecting Norway. She says the people are very hospitable, roads excellent travelling very practicable, a great deal of English spoken, & that the best place to land is Christiania where she <could> <4> give me very good recommendations to the Merchants. there. I shall make an expedition to the Scotch Islands this Summer thro the Caledonian Canal & perhaps across to Norway Neptune & the Nereids defend me from the Maëlstrom –

Believe me
very truly Yours

Chrisr Talbot

Miss E. never heard of the Recken Fossen <5>

W.H.F. Talbot Esqr
27 Duke Street
St James’s


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. John George Charles Fox Strangways (1803–1859), MP. [See Doc. No: 01155].

3. Henry Stephen Fox Strangways, 3rd Earl of Ilchester (1787–1858).

4. Text torn away under seal.

5. See Doc. No: 01251.

Result number 8 of 67:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >